Manipur Election Results 2022: BJP ahead in Manipur

Counting of votes is underway in Manipur, with preliminary data indicating that the BJP is leading in 29 seats, while the Congress is leading in 10 assembly constituencies. National People’s Party is leading in 10 seats and JD(U) in 3 seats.


Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh is currently leading by 2,598 votes in the Hingang constituency. All eyes are on the results of the assembly elections in Manipur, where the Bharatiya Janata Party wants to retain power, while the Congress is also expected to win.

According to exit polls, the ruling BJP will either emerge as the single largest party or cross the halfway mark.

While the two major parties are expected to be the main contenders, other parties including the National People’s Party, the Naga People’s Front and the JD(U) are likely to play a key role in the event of an alliance with neither party securing a majority.